Select Page

INTERNATIONAL POLICY ASSOCIATION

> Servo via Amikeco <

The IPA is ...

The independent association of police officers, irrespective of rank, gender, race, skin color, language or religion. The association may include active or retired members of the police service. She is politically, trade union, and religiously neutral. Arthur Troop, an English police sergeant, founded her at the 1. January 1950 under the central theme written in Esperanto: "Servo per Amikeco" - "Serving through Friendship" In 1953, the idea was adopted in the Netherlands, Belgium and France. 1955 sections were founded in Germany and Switzerland.

The IPA is the world's largest association of police officers with some 400'000 members currently in 63 countries.

Because of its purpose and goals, the IPA has been since the 25. July 1977 at the Council of Europe and since the 26. July 1995 registered with the United Nations with consultative status in the list of non-governmental international organizations.

She has consultative status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations and the Council of Europe.

The IPA wants ...

To promote friendly and cultural relationships, the general knowledge and the professional exchange of experience of its members, as well as to promote mutual assistance in the social field and to contribute to the peaceful coexistence of peoples and thus to world peace. This means:

  • Conducting national and international professional and cultural events
  • Organization, tour and travel as well as study visits
  • Youth exchange and offer of youth seminars
  • Support of cultural and social institutions
  • Promote inter-state links among IPA members

The IPA offers ...

A wide range of education in your own, international Information and Education Center (IBZ) Schloss Gimborn in the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia, with financial subsidies for IPA members. Promotion of professional study visits as well as travel and holidays abroad. Many sections can even offer low-cost IPA homes and IPA homes. Sons and daughters of IPA members have the opportunity to participate in the annual international World Youth Meetings. IPA members have the opportunity to visit police forces at home and abroad as well as exchange experiences with professional colleagues. The IPA helps police officers and their family members if they are in dire straits without being responsible.

The goals of the IPA ...

It is committed to upholding the principles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, as proclaimed by the United Nations, and promoting cultural relations, the general knowledge and professional exchanges of its members, and mutual assistance in the social field and within its means of peaceful development Contribute to each other's peoples and to the maintenance of world peace. To achieve these goals she wants:

  • promote personal encounters through the exchange of people and groups of people, through group travel and through the initiation of correspondence
    • Strengthen respect for the law and the maintenance of order in the police service of all national sections
    • develop social and cultural activities and promote the professional exchange of experience
    • contribute to strengthening the reputation of the police in their sections and helping to improve the relationship between the police and the population
    • Promote tolerance through youth exchanges and international youth meetings and strengthen people's understanding of each other and the role of the police
    • regularly exchange publications between the national sections and inform the members about any interesting questions thanks to an information service for the national publications of the IPA
    • through friendly contacts among police officers from all continents, facilitating cooperation across borders, and increasing understanding of professional issues.

    Arthur Troop ...

    (*15. December 1914 in Lincoln; † 30. November 2000 ibid) was an English police officer and founder of International Police Association.

    Thanks to the desire of Arthur Troop, an English sergeant of the Lincolnshire Police, to create an international network of friendship and cooperation between police officers, the club emerged in the year 1950.

    Arthur Troop was on 15. December 1914 was born in Lincoln, England, where he spent his childhood and went to school. He then started working as a mechanic, but quickly realized that he was interested in other things. He studied at Ruskin College, Oxford, with the aim of earning a degree in economics and social sciences. During this time he also studied Russian history for three years. In 1934 he received a scholarship to visit Moscow and Leningrad. This was followed by a two-year study of agriculture at Avoncroft Agricultural College at the Vale of Evesham in Worcestershire.

    On the 19. June 1936 joined Arthur in the Lincolnshire Police, where he served in various departments; his specialty, however, was transportation. Shortly after the Second World War, Arthur set out on the enormous task of founding a World Friendship Organization for police officers. He has always built heavily on people talking to each other rather than fighting each other, always believing in the positive qualities of friendship. At the time, however, he was regarded as an eccentric and learned from the side of his police chief and the Interior Ministry, a considerable rejection.

    In the years 1948 and 1949 there were contacts with friendly policemen at home and abroad. 1949 was printed in the British Police Review an article under the pseudonym »Aytee«. After the overwhelming response, Arthur was convinced that he should continue. The IPA was on 1. January 1950 was founded under the theme in Esperanto "Servo per Amikeco" (service through friendship) and Arthur Troop became the first Secretary General of the British section.

    His idea of ​​unification to develop social, cultural and professional relationships among its members, regardless of rank, gender, race, color, language or religion, became a reality.

    With the help of some pioneers, he worked tirelessly to support the creation of other national sections. After the humble beginnings, the IPA motto quickly took hold and sections were established all over the world. Soon there were sections in most parts of Western Europe, Africa, Americas (North and South), Asia, and Australia and Oceania. 1955 became Arthur's first international Secretary-General at the first meeting of the International Executive Council in Paris, a post he held until 1966 when he resigned for personal reasons.

    Following Arthur Troop's efforts to create what would become the largest police organization in the world, authorities' views on the International Police Association changed. In the "Birthday Honors List" of the Queen of the Year 1965, Arthur Troop was awarded the British Empire Medal for his work in founding the IPA. Later he received many high honors from abroad. These included an honorary doctorate from Canada, the Cross of Honor of the President of the Austrian Republic, and after the unveiling of the Arthur Troop statue on the largest Hungarian plain in the year 1998, the state awarded him the "Golden Sword of Hungary".

    After he dropped 1966 from the police service, Arthur's desire to help others continued. He started another career at Lincolnshire Social Services as a caregiver who visits blind people at home, and in turn received nationwide recognition for his social involvement in providing guide dogs. Even during his illness, Arthur and his wife Marjorie continued to run the Stamford Blind Club.

    The political changes in Eastern Europe became the catalyst for further growth and new developments within the association. As an ex-officio member of the Public Executive Bureau, Arthur regularly attended international conferences where his advice was well received and respected. At the XI. World Congress in the year 1985, he was the first to receive the Association's Golden Medal.

    On the occasion of the 26. Conference in Vienna in the year 1995 Arthur received the international IPA Prize of Polzei. Despite serious health problems, Arthur was determined to participate in the IPA World Congress in Bournemouth in May 2000 when he became the 50. Celebrated the birthday of «his» association. At the opening ceremony, her Royal Highness Princess Anne held a rousing homage to "the Lincoln-style man, for his will and the conviction with which he pursued the great task of establishing an International Police Association for the benefit of friendship. Arthur Troop encountered more distress, loneliness and disinterest than anyone could ever imagine ». On Thursday, 30. November 2000, in the afternoon Arthur died after a long illness in his sleep. Arthur was an ordinary British police officer driven by an extraordinary dream.

    Today the IPA counts about 310'000 members. The national sections are distributed in 58 countries. We have contributed to the permanent development of probably the first organization of police in the world.

    Arthur Troops thoughts have remained the driving force of the IPA to this day.

    Silver commemorative coin commemorating the founder of the IPA.

    International Police Association - IPA

    Servo via Amikeco

    Countries

    Members

    IEB - International Executive Board

    The International Executive Board (IEB) are IPA members who are elected by delegates at the IPA World Congress for a period of four years.

    The IEB is responsible for the management of the Association for the implementation of the International Executive Council (IEC). The IEB has the power to act on behalf of the IEC in any matter-of-fact immediate action.

    Meetings of the IEB take place at least once a year to review the administration of the Association. These meetings are hosted by National IPA Sections.

    Whilst they are all members of the IPA, they are responsible for the duties of their own National Section and for the exclusive good of the Association.

    Pierre-Martin MOULIN, Gal SHARON, Georgios KATSAROPOULOS, Alexei GANKIN, Stephen CROCKARD, Romain MINY, Wolfgang GABRUTSCH and May-Britt RINALD

    International President Pierre-Martin MOULIN

    The IEB is composed of:

    International President
    International Vice-President & Chairman of the International Social Cultural Commission
    International Secretary General
    Chairman International External Relationship Commission
    Chairman International Professional Commission
    Head of Administration
    International Treasurer Finance
    International Treasurer Social

    IEB members may be re-elected at a World Congress at the end of their four year term.

    Maintained by the IEB, Nottingham is the home of the International Administration Center. From here the staff liaise with the International Secretary General and the IEB as well as National Sections from all parts of the globe.

    EN FR DE IT
    ×
    Copied!

Select Page

INTERNATIONAL POLICE ASSOCIATION

> Servo per Amikeco <

Die IPA ist…

Der unabhängige Zusammenschluss von Polizeibediensteten ohne Unterschied von Rang, Geschlecht, Rasse, Hautfarbe, Sprache oder Religion. Der Vereinigung können aktive oder pensionierte Angehörige des Polizeidienstes angehören. Sie ist politisch, gewerkschaftlich und religiös neutral.Arthur Troop, ein englischer Polizeisergeant, gründete sie am 1. Januar 1950 unter dem in Esperanto abgefassten Leitgedanken: „Servo per Amikeco“-„Dienen durch Freundschaft“ Im Jahr 1953 wurde die Idee in den Niederlanden, in Belgien und in Frankreich aufgenommen. 1955 wurden Sektionen in Deutschland und in der Schweiz gegründet.

Die IPA ist weltweit die grösste Vereinigung von Polizeibediensteten mit rund 400’000 Mitgliedern in derzeit 63 Ländern.

Auf Grund ihres Zweckes und ihrer Ziele ist die IPA seit dem 25. Juli 1977 beim Europarat und seit dem 26. Juli 1995 bei den Vereinten Nationen mit beratendem Status in der Liste der nichtstaatlichen internationalen Organisationen registriert.

Sie hat beratenden Status beim Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat der Vereinten Nationen und im Europarat.

Die IPA will…

Die freundschaftlichen und kulturellen Beziehungen, das Allgemeinwissen und den beruflichen Erfahrungsaustausch ihrer Mitglieder fördern sowie die gegenseitigen Hilfeleistungen im sozialen Bereich fördern und zum friedlichen Miteinander der Völker und damit zum Weltfrieden beitragen. Dies heisst:

  • Durchführung von nationalen und internationalen beruflichen sowie kulturellen Anlässen
  • Organisation, Duchführung und Reisen sowie Studienaufenthalten
  • Jugendaustausch und Angebot von Jugendseminaren
  • Unterstützung von kulturellen und sozialen Einrichtungen
  • Förderung der zwischenstaatlichen Verbindungen unter IPA-Mitgliedern

Die IPA bietet...

Ein breites Bildungsangebot im eigenen, internationalen Informations- und Bildungszentrum (IBZ) Schloss Gimborn im deutschen Bundesland Nordrhein-Westfalen, mit finanziellen Zuschüssen für IPA-Mitglieder. Förderung von beruflichen Studienaufenthalten sowie Reisen und Ferien im Ausland. Viele Sektionen können sogar kostengünstige IPA-Häuser und IPA-Wohnungen anbieten. Söhne und Töchter von IPA-Mitglieder haben die Möglichkeit an den jährlich stattfindenden internationalen Weltjugendtreffen teilzunehmen.IPA-Mitglieder haben die Möglichkeit, Polizeieinrichtungen im In- und Ausland zu besichtigen sowie Erfahrungen mit Berufskolleginnen und -kollegen auszutauschen. Die IPA hilft Polizeibediensteten und deren Familienangehörigen, wenn sie unverschuldet in eine Notlage geraten sind.

Die Ziele der IPA...

Sie verpflichtet sich zur Einhaltung der Grundsätze der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte, wie sie 1948 von den Vereinten Nationen verkündet wurden, und will kulturelle Beziehungen, das Allgemeinwissen und den beruflichen Erfahrungsaustausch ihrer Mitglieder sowie gegenseitige Hilfeleistungen im sozialen Bereich fördern und im Rahmen ihrer Möglichkeiten zum friedlichen Miteinander der Völker und zur Erhaltung des Weltfriedens beitragen. Zur Verwirklichung dieser Ziele will sie: 

  • die persönliche Begegnung durch den Austausch von Personen und Personengruppen, durch Gruppenreisen und durch die Anbahnung von Briefkontakten fördern
    • im Polizeidienst aller nationalen Sektionen die Achtung vor dem Gesetz und der Aufrechterhaltung der Ordnung stärken
    • soziale und kulturelle Aktivitäten entwickeln und den beruflichen Erfahrungsaustausch fördern
    • zur Stärkung des Ansehens der Polizei in ihren Sektionen beitragen und das Verhältnis zwischen Polizei und Bevölkerung verbessern helfen
    • durch Jugendaustausch und internationale Jugendtreffen die Toleranz fördern und das Verständnis der Menschen untereinander sowie für die Aufgaben der Polizei stärken
    • regelmässig Publikationen zwischen den nationalen Sektionen austauschen und die Mitglieder über alle interessanten Fragen informieren dank einem Informationsservice für die nationalen Publikationen der IPA
    • durch freundschaftliche Kontakte unter den Polizeibeamten aller Kontinente die Zusammenarbeit, über die Grenzen hinaus, erleichtern und das Verständnis für die beruflichen Probleme verstärken.

    Arthur Troop...

    (*15. Dezember 1914 in Lincoln; † 30. November 2000 ebenda) war ein englischer Polizeibeamter und Gründer der International Police Association.

    Dank dem Wunsch von Arthur Troop, einem englischen Sergeanten der Lincolnshire Police, eine internationales Netz der Freundschaft und Zusammenarbeit zwischen Polizeibeamten zu schaffen entstand der Verein im Jahr 1950.

    Arthur Troop wurde am 15. Dezember 1914 im englischen Lincoln geboren, wo er seine Kindheit verbrachte und zur Schule ging. Er begann dann als Mechaniker zu arbeiten, stellte jedoch rasch fest, dass ihn andere Dinge interessierten. Er studierte am Ruskin College in Oxford mit dem Ziel, ein Diplom in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften zu erwerben. Während dieser Zeit studierte er auch drei Jahre lang russische Geschichte. Im Jahre 1934 erhielt er ein Stipendium, um Moskau und Leningrad zu besuchen. Danach folgte ein zweijähriges Studium der Landwirtschaft am Avoncroft Agricultural College im Vale of Evesham in Worcestershire.

    Am 19. Juni 1936 trat Arthur in die Lincolnshire Police ein, wo er in verschiedenen Abteilungen Dienst tat; sein Spezialgebiet war jedoch das Verkehrswesen. Kurz nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg machte sich Arthur an die enorme Aufgabe, eine Weltfreundschaftsorganisation für Polizeibeamte zu gründen. Er hat immer sehr stark darauf gebaut, dass Leute eher miteinander sprechen als gegeneinander zu kämpfen, und glaubte immer an die positiven Eigenschaften der Freundschaft. Zur damaligen Zeit wurde er jedoch als Exzentriker betrachtet und erfuhr von Seiten seines Polizeipräsidenten und des Innenministeriums erhebliche Ablehnung.

    In den Jahren 1948 und 1949 kam es zu Kontakten mit befreundeten Polizisten im In- und Ausland. 1949 wurde in der British Police Review ein Artikel unter dem Pseudonym »Aytee« abgedruckt. Nach der überwältigenden Reaktion darauf war Arthur überzeugt, dass er weitermachen sollte. Die IPA wurde am 1. Januar 1950 unter dem Leitmotiv in Esperanto »Servo per Amikeco« (Dienen durch Freundschaft) gegründet und Arthur Troop wurde der erste Generalsekretär der britischen Sektion.

    Seine Idee einer Vereinigung zur Entwicklung von sozialen, kulturellen und beruflichen Beziehungen zwischen ihren Mitgliedern, ohne Unterschied von Rang, Geschlecht, Rasse, Hautfarbe, Sprache oder Religion, wurde Realität.

    Mit Hilfe einiger Pioniere arbeitete er unermüdlich daran, die Gründung weiterer nationaler Sektionen zu unterstützen. Nach den bescheidenen Anfängen fasste das IPA-Motto schnell Fuss und es wurden Sektionen in der ganzen Welt gegründet. Bald gab es Sektionen in den meisten Teilen Westeuropas, Afrikas, Amerikas (Nord und Süd), Asiens sowie Australiens und Ozeaniens.1955 wurde Arthur bei der ersten Zusammenkunft des Internationalen Exekutivrats in Paris der erste internationale Generalsekretär, ein Posten, den er bis 1966 innehatte, als er aus persönlichen Gründen zurücktrat.

    Nach Arthur Troops Leistungen bei der Schaffung dessen, was zur grössten Polizeiorganisation der Welt werden sollte, änderten sich die Ansichten der Behörden über die International Police Association. In der »Birthday Honours List« der Queen des Jahres 1965 wurde Arthur Troop die British Empire Medal für seine Arbeit bei der Gründung der IPA verliehen. Später erhielt er noch viele hohe Auszeichnungen aus dem Ausland. Dazu gehörten eine Ehrendoktorwürde aus Kanada, das Ehrenkreuz des Präsidenten der Österreichischen Republik, und nach der Enthüllung der Arthur-Troop-Statue auf der grössten ungarischen Ebene im Jahre 1998 wurde ihm das »Goldene Schwert Ungarns« durch den Staat verliehen.

    Nachdem er 1966 aus dem Polizeidienst schied, wirkte Arthurs Wunsch, anderen zu helfen, weiter. Er startete eine weitere Karriere beim Sozialamt von Lincolnshire als Betreuer, der Blinde zu Hause besucht, und erhielt wiederum landesweite Anerkennung für sein soziales Engagement bei der Bereitstellung von Blindenhunden. Selbst während seiner Krankheit betrieben Arthur und seine Frau Marjorie den Stamford Blind Club weiter.

    Der politische Wandel in Osteuropa wurde zum Katalysator für weiteres Wachstum und neue Entwicklungen innerhalb der Vereinigung. Als Ex-Officio-Mitglied des Internationalen Vorstands (Public Executive Bureau) besuchte Arthur regelmässig internationale Konferenzen, wo sein Ratschlag gern gehört und respektiert wurde. Beim XI. Weltkongress im Jahre 1985 erhielt er als erster die Goldene Medaille der Association.

    Anlässlich der 26. Konferenz in Wien im Jahr 1995 erhielt Arthur den internationalen IPA-Preis der Polzei. Trotz schweren gesundheitlichen Problemen wollte Arthur unbedingt am IPA-Weltkongress in Bournemouth im Mai 2000 teilnehmen, wurde doch der 50. Geburtstag «seiner» Vereinigung gefeiert. An der Eröffnungszeremonie hielt ihre königliche Hoheit Prinzessin Anne eine mitreissende Hommage an «... den Mann vom Format eines Lincoln, für seinen Willen und die Überzeugung, mit der er die grosse Aufgabe verfolgte, eine International Police Association im Dienste der Freundschaft zu gründen. Arthur Troop begegnete mehr Not, Einsamkeit und Desinteresse, als man sich je vorstellen kann». Am Donnerstag, 30. November 2000, nachmittags verstarb Arthur nach langer Krankheit im Schlaf. Arthur war ein gewöhnlicher britischer Polizeibeamter, getrieben von einem ausserordentlichen Traum.

    Heute zählt die IPA ca. 310'000 Mitglieder. Die nationalen Sektionen sind in 58 Ländern verteilt. Wir haben zur permanenten Entwicklung der wohl ersten Organisation der Polizei auf der ganzen Welt beigetragen.

    Arthur Troops Gedanken sind bis heute die treibende Kraft der IPA geblieben.

    Silbergedenkmünze zur Erinnerung an den Gründer der IPA.

    International Police Association - IPA

    Servo per Amikeco

    Länder

    Mitglieder

    IEB - International Executive Board

    The International Executive Board (IEB) are IPA members who are elected by delegates at the IPA World Congress for a period of four years.

    The IEB is responsible for the management of the Association and for implementation of decisions taken by the International Executive Council (IEC). The IEB have the power to act on behalf of the IEC in any matter requiring immediate action.

    Meetings of the IEB take place at least once a year to review the administration of the Association. These meetings are hosted by National IPA Sections.

    Whilst all of the International Executive Board are members of the IPA they undertake their duties independently of the interests of their own National Section and for the exclusive good of the Association.

    Martin HOFFMANN (A), Michael WALSCH (IE), Stephen CROCKARD (UK), Pierre-Martin MOULIN (CH), Kyriakos KARKALIS (GR), May-Britt RONNEBRO (S), Einar JONSSON (Iceland), Demetris DEMETRIOU (Cyprus)
     

    Internationaler Präsident Pierre-Martin MOULIN

    The IEB is composed of:

    International President
    International Vice-President & Chairman of International Social Cultural Commission 
    International Secretary General
    Chairman International External Relationship Commission
    Chairman International Professional Commission
    Head of Administration
    International Treasurer Finance
    International Treasurer Social

    IEB members may be re-elected at a World Congress at the end of their four year term.

    Maintained by the IEB, Nottingham is the home of the International Administration Centre. From here the staff liaise with the International Secretary General and the IEB as well as with National Sections from all parts of the globe.

    EN FR DE IT
    ×